APC 2023 Election: Fayemi Osinbayo Kick Against Stepping Down

Indications mergered that all efforts by leaders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the South West to present a “consensus” candidate ahead of Tuesday presidential convention of the All Progressives Congress (APC) were rebuffed the string contenders from the zone.

It was reliably gathered that Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo and Ekiti State Governor, Kayode Fayemi refused to step down for the former Lagos State Governor, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

It was also revealed that names of five presidential aspirants were submitted to President Muhammadu Buhari by the forum of the APC Governors, the Progressive Governors Forum (PGF).

The five aspirants from the Southern part of the country include, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Ebonyi State Governor, Dave Umahi; Ekiti State Governor and Chairman of the forum of 36 States Governors, Dr Kayode Fayemi; former Lagos State Governor, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Vice-President, Yemi Osinbajo.

It was also gathered that Professor Osinbajo informed the APC leaders that he has been demonised by Tinubu’s supporters and has vowed to test his acceptability by proceeding to contest at Eagles Square.

Dr Fayemi was also said to have refused bluntly to step down for any candidate and that he was sure of victory, therefore, there is no need to step down.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top